Bobby Bell Memorial Award

The Bobby Bell Award was established in 2000 and is presented annually to the most outstanding lineman or linebacker in the small class (Missouri Classes 1-4 and Kansas Classes 1A-4A) category.

The award is named for former Kansas City Chiefs All-Pro and Pro Football Hall of Fame player Bobby Bell.

Bobby Bell was the most highly honored college lineman of the 1962 season. His coach at the University of Minnesota described the two-time All-America choice and Outland Trophy winner as “the greatest lineman I have ever seen.”

It’s hard to believe the versatile 6-4, 228-pound Bell actually began his college career as a quarterback. The Kansas City Chiefs of the then-young American Football League were so convinced that Bobby would sign with the Minnesota Vikings of the rival National Football League that they didn’t even bother selecting him until the seventh round of the 1963 draft. The University of Minnesota star stunned the pro football world when he opted to sign with the Chiefs.

Bobby began his 12-year career with Kansas City as a defensive end. He excelled in coach Hank Stram’s “stack defense,” which called for him to drop out of the 4-3 alignment and become a fourth linebacker. In 1965, after winning all-league honors as a defensive end the previous season, Bobby was shifted to outside linebacker. His size and speed made him ideal for the position. As a linebacker he was named All-AFL or All-NFL every year from 1965 through 1971.

During his career, the versatile Bobby intercepted 26 passes, returning six for touchdowns. He also scored on an onside kick and two fumble recoveries. Built in the shape of an inverted pyramid with massive shoulders tapering down to a 32-inch waist, Bobby presented a fearsome appearance on the field. He had the physique to withstand as well as deal out punishment. What made him stand out from the crowd was his superior approach to the game, a willingness to play anywhere even when injured and his great joy at just playing the game.

Bobby was the first Kansas City Chiefs player to be elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The recipient of this prestigious award is selected by a vote of the high school football coaches and select media members in the metropolitan area. The award is given to the football player most representative of excellence on the playing field.

Along with the trophy, which resides at the high school of the recipient for a period of one year, the Simone-Fontana Foundation presents a donation of $1,000 to the athletic department of the recipients’ high school.

2013 Bobby Bell Award Finalists
Colton Beebe, Piper

Ryan Franks, Hogan Prep

Ethan Fugitt, Oak Grove

Casey McDermott, Raytown South

All-Time Bell Award Winners

Year Player Team
2013 Colton Beebe Piper
2012 Maliek Collins Center
2011 Travis Britz Harrisonville
2010 Tyler Ewy Louisburg
2009 Joe Windsor Kearney
2008 Trever Wilson Pleasant Hill
2007 Brian Kagarice Harrisonville
2006 Michael Keck Harrisonville
2005 Sean Whiters Lee’s Summit West
2004 Brock Christopher Kearney
2003 Brock Christopher Kearney
2002 Charlie Simone St. Pius X
2001 Anthony Simone St. Pius X
2000 Brian Koechner Platte County