Frank Fontana Memorial

The Frank Fontana Memorial Award was established in 1999 in memory of Frank Fontana, an outstanding athlete who excelled in football and basketball. In 1981, Frank captained the State Champion St. Pius X High School football team. He was also selected to the all-Northland team that year. In basketball, he captained the Warriors’ squad.

The Frank Fontana Memorial Award is presented to the most outstanding high school football player in the smaller class (Missouri Classes 1-4 and Kansas Classes 1A-4A) category.

The recipient of this prestigious award is selected by a vote of the high school football coaches and select media members in the metropolitan area. The award is given to the football player most representative of excellence on the playing field. If the area coaches and media select a smaller class player to win the Simone Award, that player may not also win the Fontana Award. No player may win both awards in the same year.

Along with the trophy, which resides at the high school of the recipient for a period of one year, the Simone-Fontana Foundation presents a donation of $1,000 to the athletic department of the recipients’ high school.

2013 Frank Fontana Award Finalists
Chad Berg, Baldwin

Aaron Graham, Oak Grove

Josh Shewmaker, Pleasant Hill

Austin Tevis, Holden

All-Time Fontana Award Winners

Year Player High School
2013 Josh Shewmaker Pleasant Hill
2012 Max Mickey Holden
2011 Krae Kelso Platte County
2010 Shane Hartzler Kearney
2009 Darrenn White University Academy
2008 Conrad Schottel Kearney
2007 Sean Ransburg Harrisonville
2006 Pat Cashmore St. Pius X
2005 La’Darrian Page Lee’s Summit West
2004 Leonard Durant Hickman Mills
2003 Benny Palmer Kearney
2002 Willie Cashmore St. Pius X
2001 Zach Sherman Platte County
2000 Brandon Gutshall Platte County