Metro Sports Coach of the Year

Metro Sports has presented a Coach of the Year Award to two metro area head coaches, one on each side of the state line, annually since 1998. The Metro Sports Coaches of the Year were announced as part of the Simone Awards ceremony for the first time just one year later. Metro Sports began televising the Simone Awards in 1999, a partnership that continues today and has played an integral role in the growth and prestige of the awards.

Kansas Missouri
2012 Tim Callaghan, Shawnee Mission West
2011 Jeff Gourley, Olathe South
2010 Eric Driskell, Blue Valley
2009 Pete Flood, Olathe North
2008 Kevin Kopecky, St. Thomas Aquinas
2007 Scott Wright, Blue Valley West
2006 Steve Rampy, Blue Valley
2005 Jeff Meyers, Olathe East
2004 Mark Littrell, Olathe South
2003 Steve Rampy, Blue Valley
2002 Gene Wier, Olathe North
2001 Gene Wier, Olathe North
2000 Gene Wier, Olathe North
1999 Mark Littrell, Olathe South
1998 Steve Rampy, Blue Valley
2012 Kelly Donohoe, Blue Springs
2011 Fred Bouchard, Staley
2010 Tony Severino, Rockhurst
2009 Ryan Shartz, Fort Osage
2008 David Allie, Raytown South
2007 Royce Boehm, Lee’s Summit West
2006 Greg Oder, Blue Springs South
2005 Tom Kruse, Raymore-Peculiar
2004 Tom Kruse, Raymore-Peculiar
2003 Mark Thomas, Kearney
2002 Tony Severino, Rockhurst
2001 Kelly Donohoe, Blue Springs
2000 Chip Sherman, Platte County
1999 Tony Severino, Rockhurst
1998 Rick Byers, St. Pius X