Otis Taylor Award

In 2007, at the suggestion of high school football referee Curtis Whiters, the Simone-Fontana Foundation contacted Otis Taylor family friend and Kansas City icon Ollie Gates about starting the Otis Taylor Award to recognize the most outstanding wide receiver/ tight end in the Kansas City metropolitan area. Ollie took the idea to Otis Taylor and his family, who gave the award their blessing.

Otis Taylor was one of the best and most exciting wide receivers of his era. He played in three AFC-NFL Pro Bowls, following the 1970-72 seasons. At the conclusion of his career he owned the Kansas City Chiefs’ career records for receiving yards (7,306), receiving touchdowns (57) and 100-yard receiving games (20). Otis Taylor’s 410 career receptions rank second in team history. He may be best known for hauling in a dazzling 46-yard touchdown pass helping the Chiefs upset the Minnesota Vikings in Super Bowl IV.

A 1982 inductee into the Kansas City Chiefs Ring of Honor, he wore number 89 as a Chiefs player. His number 17 from his college days at Prairie View A&M has been retired by the school. The Otis Taylor Award is selected by a vote of the high school football coaches and select media members in the metropolitan area. The award is given to the football player most representative of excellence on the playing field.

Along with the trophy, which resides at the high school of the recipient for a period of one year, the Simone-Fontana Foundation presents a donation of $1,000 to the athletic department of the recipients’ high school.

2013 Otis Taylor Award Finalists
Khalil Bailey, Lansing

Monte Harrison, Lee’s Summit West

Andre Maloney, Shawnee Mission West

Darrius Shepherd, Blue Springs

All-Time Otis Taylor Award Winners

2013 Monte Harrison Lee’s Summit West
2012 Craig Scott Park Hill South
2011 Tre’ Parmalee Bishop Miege
2010 Sam Sealer Lee’s Summit
2009 Keeston Terry Blue Springs
2008 Marcus Lucas Liberty
2007 Travis Mosby Lee’s Summit