The Thomas A. Simone Memorial Football Award is presented annually to the most outstanding high school football player in the greater Kansas City metropolitan area. The award, established in 1932 in the name of Dr. D.M. Nigro, continued until Dr. Nigro’s death in 1976.

No award was given from 1976-83, until Mr. and Mrs. Anthony Simone, as a tribute to their 12-year old son Tommy, who was tragically killed in an automobile accident in April 1983, reinstated the award.

The recipient of this prestigious award is selected by a vote of the high school football coaches and select media members in the metropolitan area. The award is given to the football player most representative of excellence on the playing field. The trophy presented today symbolizes the qualities of love, courage and friendship – qualities young Tommy so aptly displayed.

Along with the trophy, which resides at the high school of the recipient for a period of one year, the Simone-Fontana Foundation presents a donation of $1,000 to the athletic department of the recipients’ high school.

All-Time Dr. D.M. Nigro Award Winners                All-Time Thomas A. Simone Award Winners

1975 Mark Capra St. Pius X 2012 Dalvin Warmack Blue Springs
1974 Carl Tutorino Rockhurst 2011 Evan Boehm Lee’s Summit West
1973 Jim Solo Hickman Mills 2010 Bubba Starling Gardner-Edgerton
1972 Larry Birt Southwest 2009 James Franklin Olathe North
1971 Chris Cummings Rockhurst 2008 Blaine Dalton Blue Springs South
1970 Roland Fuchs Center 2007 Nathan Scheelhaase Rockhurst
1969 Louis Nigro De La Salle 2006 Zach Rampy Blue Valley
1968 Scott Henderson Oak Park 2005 Josh Freeman Grandview
1967 Raudell McMurray Central 2004 Chase Coffman Raymore-Peculiar
1966 Keith Lieppman Southwest 2003 Michael Keenan Oak Park
1965 Dave Rebori De La Salle 2002 Jim Bouknight Olathe North
1964 Clem Talley Lillis 2001 Maurice Mack Olathe North
1963 Russell Washington Southeast 2000 Darren Sproles Olathe North
1962 Steve Wesfall North Kansas City 1999 Brandon Shelby Rockhurst
1961 Joe Esposito De La Salle 1998 Sean Doyle Rockhurst
1960 Mike Greene Center 1997 Josh Brewer Olathe North
1959 Danny Hudgins Westport 1996 Ladell Betts Blue Springs
1958 Jack Cruise Bishop Hogan 1995 Arland Bruce Olathe North
1957 Larry Allen Central 1994 Eddie Brooks Blue Springs South
1956 Skip Snyder Southeast 1993 Jason Thoren Lawrence
1955 Phil Snowden North Kansas City 1992 Nate Minnis Blue Springs
1954 Alex George, Jr. Rockhurst 1991 Andy Murray Blue Valley
1953 Roger Taylor Southeast 1990 Kevin McIntosh Hickman Mills
1952 Pat Daleo Pem Day 1989 Jeff Handy Blue Springs
Alonzo Robinson Rockhurst 1988 Derrick Hart Schlagle
1951 Paul Hunt Pem Day 1987 Kenyon Rasheed Rockhurst
1950 John Handley Southwest 1986 Tim Ryan Rockhurst
1949 Corky Taylor Southeast 1985 Craig Phillips Lee’s Summit
1948 Frank Ammatelli Glennon 1984 Shawn Long Grandview
1947 Bob Williams Rockhurst 1983 Jeff Kelso Park Hill
1946 John Glorioso Northeast
1945 Bill Snyder Southeast
1944 Ray Mais East
1943 George Dusselier De La Salle
1942 Len Lecluyse Rockhurst
1941 Bud French Central
1940 Gene Roberts East
1939 John Steck Rockhurst
1938 Don Greenwood Southeast
1937 Bob Brenton Central
1936 C. Beatty Westport
1935 Harry Ice Northeast
1934 Al Rozgay Northeast
1933 Alex Nigro Manual
1932 H.R. Bartello Northeast
1931 John Ryan De La Salle